Pt 2: Valparaíso

“Sometimes I get up early and even my soul is wet.
Far away the sea sounds and resounds.
This is a port.” – Pablo Neruda, Here I Love You

Valparaíso was described to me as “the San Francisco of Chile” due to the love of the arts, and the free-nature of the ocean embodied among its inhabitants. This, along with the view of the ocean and the allure of the beautifully colored buildings, convinced me to make the 1.5 hr bus-trip for a day in the port-city. I was not disappointed.

The streets of Valparaíso

Despite the overcast sky, I had a delightful time (aided by some wine) wandering the streets and finding brilliant murals or paintings at every turn. And eventually, I found my way to Pablo Neruda’s house in the city:

Pablo Neruda’s Valparaíso residence

Maybe it was the city, maybe it was the residual influence of Pablo Neruda, but I left feeling quite inspired, and looking forward to the next part of my trip: trekking the Torres del Paine.

Leave a Reply

